Databases Databases

Free databases are available to library members. Databases provide instant access to current, authoritative information on a range of subjects from journals, newspapers and magazines worldwide.

To access some databases, you will need to register for a State Library of Queensland (SLQ) membership.

State Library of Queensland provides an extensive range of databases and eresources that can be accesssed via their website. Find out more

 

Database Access method

Access Science

All articles and illustrations from the latest edition of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, plus research updates from the McGraw-Hill Yearbooks, thousands of illustrations, and the latest science news headlines and biographies. 

SLQ Account

Arts Full Text

View articles from magazines covering topics such as design, archaeology and architecture. 

SLQ Account

Carter's Guide to Antiques and Collectables

Always up-to-date with prices, Carter's covers items from 1500BC to the present day, including antiquities, antiques, collectables, retro and 20th century design. 

No login required

Choice online

Please see staff for access

In Library use only

Clue Detective

Enjoy saving your favourite puzzles online.

Library card

Dance in video

More than 500 hours of streaming video covering ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, plus experimental works, documentaries by and about leading choreographers, videos on dance training and twentieth-century dance styles. 

SLQ Account

Directory of Australian Associations

Covers national and state associations, foundations, marketing bodies, institutes and committees, plus Australian branches of international associations  

SLQ Account 

Encyclopedia Britannica Online

A reference articles for students, educators and parents 

SLQ Account

Europa World Plus

Up-to-date political, economic and statistical information about more than 250 countries 

SLQ Account 

Gale Virtual Reference Library: eBooks 

Encyclopedias and specialised reference sources for multidisciplinary research. 

Library card

Health and Wellness Resource Center

Up-to-date, authoritative full-text health information from journals and reference titles. 

SLQ Account

IELTS

General training module to prepare for taking the IELTS Test. Available online or via the app

 

LibraryPress Display

A full-colour, full-page collection of today's newspapers (and 45 days of back issues) in 37 languages from around the world. Within the State Library of Queensland eresources list, select News. 

SLQ Account

Literature Resource Center

Biographies, bibliographies and critical analyses of more than 120,000 authors from every age and literary discipline 

Library card

Music Online

Cross-searches the Alexander Street Press range of music databases, including Classical Music Reference Library, Classical Scores Library, The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online, and African American Music Reference. It also searches various audio and video libraries: Classical Music Library, American Song, Contemporary World Music, Jazz Music Library, Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries, Dance in Video, Opera in Video. 

SLQ Account

Oxford Art Online

Access a series of art resources that include timelines and thousands of images 

SLQ Account

Oxford Music Online

The full text of Grove Music Online, the Encyclopedia of Popular Music, the Oxford Companion to Music and the Oxford Dictionary of Music, covering the history of music from Bach to the Blues, with biographies, sound archives, illustrations and links to music internet sites. 

SLQ Account

ProQuest Science Journals

Full text articles and images from scientific journals. 

SLQ Account

Transparent Language Online

Seriously Addictive Language Learning: Transparent Language Online is a powerful and personalised language-learning system. 

Library card

WebsterWorld

An encyclopedia with Australian content 

No login required

Who's who in Australia

Biographical information about notable Australians from all works of life including, sports, politics, business and the arts 

SLQ Account